The new Off-Facebook Activity tracking rumor is real. Here’s how to keep the social media platform from tracking your web browsing and history.
It allows you to view and manage data that apps and websites share with the platform and inspect the kind of information third-party applications can access.
The privacy feature allows you to clear the history of apps and websites that have shared your data. You can also turn off future Off-Facebook activity, which tells Facebook to disconnect any information the company has shared from your account. Or you can choose which companies you want to stop sharing your activity and it’ll stop showing you those targeted ads.
Manage what sites share with Facebook using the Off-Facebook Activity tool
With Facebook’s business tools, you can view what information applications and websites have sent to the company. From there, you can clear the data from your account and turn off future “off-Facebook activity” from your account. You’ll be able to control this for all applications and websites so they’ll no longer be able to share your search activity and history with Facebook.
To get started, go to Settings & Privacy > Settings > Your Facebook Information > Off-Facebook Activity. From there, you can manage your Off-Facebook Activity, clear all history and turn off any future activity to your account.
This happens when you turn off activity managed by Off-Facebook
Once you clear the activity managed by the tool, Facebook will remove your identifying information that the apps and websites store. That means Facebook won’t know which websites you visited or what you viewed at, so you won’t see any targeted ads from those sites.
What else you can do to improve your privacy on Facebook
If you’d like to control which ads you view (or don’t) on Facebook, go to your Settings on your phone or desktop and select Ad Preferences.
Beneath Advertisers and Businesses, you can see which advertisers have run ads using a list uploaded to Facebook containing your information. By selecting a company and then choosing Don’t Allow, you won’t see ads from advertisers when they use a list from that company.